Skip to content

Hell’s Corner – David Baldacci

July 29, 2016

Today’s book: Hell’s Corner by David Baldacci
Published in 2010 by Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Book Group
Location: Todd’s Library
Cover - Hell's CornerGood day reader! I managed to pick up four more books from one of my favourite authors! I must admit, in my reading, I haven’t recently read a David Baldacci book, and after reading this one, I’m kicking myself, wondering why!

This book is part of the “Camel Club” series. I have three of the other books in this storyline, The Collectors, and Stone Cold.

The main character is someone we learn a little bit more about in each successive story, and he calls himself Oliver Stone. This particular story starts out in Lafayette Square, which is a green space just across the street from the White House. Stone is called back in to help solve a particular problem for the government, and while he is reminiscing one evening in Lafayette Square, a series of unbelievable events unfolds among a number of seemingly unrelated characters and groups. Stone is caught up in the middle, between friends, enemies, governments, and all kinds of powerful people, as he tries to unwind and uncover the truth, while his enemies always seem to be one step ahead.

We have been in Lafayette Square, and in fact watched the July 4th fireworks from there one year, so it was amazing to picture so much of the story having seen it in real life.

Baldacci writes a fantastic story full of ingenuity and surprise and pulling me into the story, no matter how hard I try to put it away. Intrigue, politics, “spies”, and extraordinary detail come gushing out of this book. Simply wonderful. David Baldacci is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors, and one who will have a permanent spot on my bookshelf.

From → Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

