Skip to content
Tags

The Collectors – David Baldacci

September 29, 2014

Today’s book: The Collectors by David Baldacci
Published in 2006 by Warner Books
Location: Todd’s Library

FullSizeRender

Over the past year or so I’ve started to read a lot of different works by authors who I have not been familiar with. Quickly becoming one of my go-to reads is David Baldacci. I’ve read a couple of his works now, not all have been posted about – sorry. And his writing has become one of those rare “can’t put this book down” events.

Certainly some of my favourite reads have to do with government, politics, sometimes espionage. I tend to be drawn towards the details – the more, the better.

The Collectors is about all of these, where a major spy network is operating in Washington DC (I know, no big surprise), but the unusual part of this story is it centres around the Library of Congress. Yes, I said the Library of Congress – not the first place you’d expect spies, government, and exciting intrigue. But here it was nonetheless. A very eclectic group of folks manages to figure out what’s going on, even though all the elite agencies of the government are stymied. We work with this group to a dramatic end… which I’m not going to spoil.

But there is a second, and likely a third story line going on here. Like a story within a story, as we learn about some of the characters, we discover they are in their own little mystery and perhaps a bit of a scam.

Each time I turn to a new chapter, expecting to get a little closer to the secret, the story changes to another group entirely, and I’ve got to keep reading so I can keep up.

Mr. Baldacci’s story kept me interested, and into the book for a lot longer than I expected. His writing and craftsmanship is superb, and he walks the delicate balance between too much information and not enough detail, exquisitely. This is a book you want to read, and I have a few others of his on my reading stack.

The Collectors is a keeper, and it will find a good home on my shelf.

From → Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

