Skip to content

The Shimmer – David Morrell

August 18, 2012

Today’s Book: The Shimmer by David Morrell
Published in 2009 by Vanguard Press
Location: I purchased this one from Chapters a few months ago. (and I see it’s on sale now!) But you can request it through TRAC and pick it up at the Strathmore Municipal Library for free!

20120817-093803.jpg

Many years ago I watched a mini-series on TV called “Brotherhood of the Rose” which was a TV adaptation of a book by David Morrell of the same title. I found another of Mr. Morrrell’s book – Fraternity of the Stone, and another – the League of Night and Fog, and I was hooked. It took me a number of years to find a copy of Brotherhood of the Rose to complete my collection.

Earlier this spring, I saw The Shimmer on Chapters at a steeply discounted price, so I picked it up. And I was not disappointed! Although it is much different than the other series that I mentioned, more about them another time, it was spell-binding!

David weaves a tale of unusual phenomenon called the Rostov Lights, through the lives of a struggling couple – he a policeman/pilot, she just having received a cancer diagnosis. They find themselves in Rostov where after many years, at night, some unusual lights show up.

There is intrigue, conspiracy as there is also a secret military research base that was looking for an alternative weapon back in the 1940’s. There is a pride-filled reporter who wants to make the big leagues, there are flashbacks to the late 1800’s, mid 1900’s. There are people who lose their minds and turn on their friends and co-workers. There is quietness, there is action. And I won’t spoil it, but it lends itself to potential future stories.

All related to the Rostov lights. (Which is completely fictional and made up by Mr. Morrell, but intriguing nonetheless!)

I tried to read this book through various 5-10 minute breaks, but finally I had to just sit down for a longer period, because it was too hard to wait for another brief break. I guess that’s one of the best parts of a good book – it’s something you just don’t want to put down!

Mr. Morrell wrote an incredible story, the main characters all had life changing experiences and they all became better people in the end. Just enough mystery and surprises to keep you going.

This was a GREAT book! And if you get a chance to read some of his other material, you won’t be disappointed, although they are much different types of stories.

I guess that’s one thing that really impressed me – David Morrell is more than capable of writing completely different stories, in different genre’s. His earlier ones that I read were about spies, and government/non-government operatives, intrigue, heroes and villains. There really isn’t much villain in this story, and it’s not at all like his previous books.

Pick it up. You won’t be able to put it down.

From → Books

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing that. I read Shimmer and wasn’t as thrilled with it as you. My fav of his is Creepers.

    We went to the same high school in Kitchener. I know he just started writing the first draft of the sequel to Murder Is A Fine Art. Haven’t gotten to that one yet.

    Do you read e-books or just paper?

    • Thanks James! Haven’t read Creepers yet, will have to check it out.

      I read both e-books and paper, but lately I’ve gotten my hands on a number of hardcovers or paperbacks. When I run out of them, I’ll likely switch back and forth as the right books come available.

Leave a Reply

