Skip to content

Kilo Class – Patrick Robinson

July 25, 2012

A new section of the blog starting today! Book Reviews! I don’t know if you’ve heard, but I love books. I have a LOT of books, trust me, I had to move all 26 apple boxes full of books last year. (And I’ve acquired some more since!) Rhonda tells me I need to get rid of books, but I just can’t. I’ll probably be a book hoarder in my old age!

So I went to the library this past week, and I took some books out, looking for some different authors than my normal Tom Clancy, John Grisham, and Michael Crichton. I’m thinking by putting some thoughts out about some of the books I’ve read, some of you may have some recommendations for other books or authors for me?

Today’s Book: Kilo Class by Patrick Robinson
Published in 1998 by Harper Fiction
Borrowed from: Strathmore Library

20120725-225732.jpg
I’m not sure if I’ve read any of Mr. Robinson’s books before, but I can tell you, I’ll be looking to read some more!

In short Kilo Class is a story set in the early 2000’s, where China is trying to acquire 10 Kilo Class submarines from Russia. The Kilo class is an incredibly quiet sub, and China is hoping to have a fleet of subs to prevent the American’s from protecting Taiwan with their aircraft carriers.

In the story, there are multiple groups trying to prevent the Chinese from taking delivery of these subs by destroying them as they are in transit from Russia to China.

I really enjoyed the story, it kept me on the edge of my seat while I was reading it, and I couldn’t put it down. Patrick Robinson has quite a lot of detail in the tactics used by both the submariners, as well as the SEAL teams, and also a lot of back room and politics. It’s a complex story, with multiple action points, and is very descriptive. If you are interested in military strategy in special ops, and undercover spies and that sort of thing, you’ll enjoy this book. I am not fond of some of the foul language, and I think the point and story could’ve come across with out it.

There are many characters, and each character has a back story too.

The book is 507 pages of reading pleasure, and I would read it again!

Thanks Patrick Robinson for an opportunity to escape into a great story!

From → Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

